A private social club is the brainchild of three University of Virginia alumni who moved back to Charlottesville to create a place to bring creative people together, whether artists, writers, educators, scientists or entrepreneurs. The Common House is located in what once was the Mentor Lodge, originally built in 1913.
Alexander Nicholson rescued the original building, which had collapsed under the weight of 13 inches of snow, restoring it brick by brick, and created a new addition. The club boasts a full restaurant kitchen and dining facilities, a networking lounge with gas fireplace, a library, two game rooms, multi-purpose event space, and a roof terrace overlooking downtown Charlottesville. Great effort was taken to repurpose herringbone floor, and the use of iron, glass, hand laid tile and playful murals creates an inviting space. Contractors collaborated with Wolf Ackerman Design and Hanover Avenue.